University of Copenhagen & Aarhus University

The University of Copenhagen and Aarhus University are Denmark’s two largest universities, both typically ranked in the top 100 worldwide and with more than 80,000 students combined.

The University of Copenhagen was founded in 1479 and has employed astronomer Ole Rømer, Enlightenment author Ludvig Holberg, and physicist Niels Bohr. Originally located at the center of Copenhagen, the university now has facilities throughout the vibrant capital of Denmark. The IWL 2017 will take place in the new buildings of the Southern Campus close to the harbor, where the Humanities are seated.

 Aarhus University was founded in 1928 and has grown rapidly since then, expanding beyond its landmark university park at Aarhus, including a campus at Emdrup north of Copenhagen. Aarhus is the European Capital of Culture in 2017.