Institutional Affiliates

Please note that most IWL affiliates are individual departments or programs within a university, though sometimes the affiliation with IWL is jointly set up by two or more departments or by an overall school or university or consortium. To see who has set up the affiliation at a given university, please check out our the list below, or the Affiliates Map above by hovering over the hotspot you're interested in.

If your specific school, department or program isn’t listed below (even though your university is) you are not an affiliate applicant. If only a university is listed, without mention of specific schools or departments, then anyone at that university is an affiliate applicant. People in non-affiliated departments are welcome to apply to the Institute, but they won’t be given the discounted affiliate rate unless they are included in the list of recommended participants sent to IWL by the affiliated department.


Beijing Normal University (PRC), School of Chinese Language and Literature

Binghamton University (USA), Department of Comparative Literature

City University of Hong Kong (PRC), College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

CHASE (The Courtauld Institute of Art - Goldsmiths, University of London - Open University - University of East Anglia University of Essex - University of Kent - University of Sussex) (United Kingdom)

CUNY Graduate Center (USA), Comparative Literature

Clemson University (USA), English Department

Dongguk University (Korea), College of Liberal Arts

École des hautes études en sciences sociales (France)

Georg-August University, Göttingen (Germany), Seminar für Deutsche Philologie Abteilung Komparatistik

Hangzhou Normal University (PRC), Department of English

Harvard University (USA), Department of Comparative Literature

Heidelberg University (Germany), Cluster of Excellence, Asia and Europe in a Global Context

Huafan University (Taiwan), Department of Foreign Languages and Literature

Istanbul Bilgi University (Turkey), Department of Comparative Literature

Johannes Gutenberg University (Germany), Obama Institute for Transnational American Studies 

Justus-Liebig University (Germany), International Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture (GCSC)

KU Leuven Faculty of Arts (Belgium), Faculty of Arts and Sciences (Literary Studies Research Unit, Translation Studies Research Unit, CERES, CETRA)

Louisiana State University (USA), Comparative Literature, English, French Studies, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Ludwig Maximilians University Munich/Research Training Group Globalization and Literature (Germany)

Monash University (Australia), School of Languages, Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics

New York University (USA), Department of Comparative Literature

Northwestern University (USA), Program in Comparative Literary Studies

Pennsylvania State University (USA), Department of Comparative Literature

Princeton (USA), Department of Comparative Literature

Rutgers University (USA), School of Arts and Sciences

Simon Fraser University (Canada), World Literature Program




Stockholm University (Sweden), Department of English

Tianjin Normal University (PRC), College of Chinese Language and Literature

Tsinghua University (PRC), Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures

Tsuru University (Japan), Department of English

UCLA (USA), Humanities Division

UC Merced (USA), Interdisciplinary Humanities

UC Santa Barbara (USA), Comparative Literature Program

Universidade Federal Fluminense & Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)

University of Barcelona (Spain)

University of Belgrade (Serbia), Faculty of Philology

University of Bern (Switzerland), Department of English

University of Bucharest (Romania)

University of Granada (Spain), Department of Comparative Literature

University of Houston (USA), Department of Comparative Cultural Studies

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA), Program in Comparative & World Literature, the Department of English, School of Literatures, Cultures, and Linguistics

University of Innsbruck (Austria), Faculty of Humanities 2 (Language and Literature)

University of Lisbon (Portugal), Faculty of Letters, Center for Comparative Studies

University of Luxembourg (Luxembourg), Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education

University of New South Wales (Australia), School of the Arts and Media

University of Santiago de Compostela (Spain), Group of Literary Theory and Comparative Literature

University of Sydney (Australia), University of Sydney
Department of English, School of Literature, Art, and Media

University of Texas at Austin (USA), Department of English

University of Tokyo (Japan),  Department of Contemporary Literary Studies

University of Toronto (Canada), Center for Comparative Literature

University of Virginia (USA), Department of English

University Paris Nanterre (France), Centre de Recherche Anglophone CREA

Yale University (USA), Department of Comparative Literature

Yonsei University (South Korea), Department of English Language and Literature

York University (Canada), Graduate Program in English